Freerunner Buzz-fixed

My Freerunner returned yesterday from SDG Systems where it was buzz-fixed. It doesn’t look like there has been progress on the notification issues with Android on Freerunner, so I opted to flash OM2009 to NAND.

First I tried flashing just the kernel and root filesystem, but it wouldn’t boot. So I flashed the u-boot from the same source as the kernel and root fs. After that the phone would boot.

Never content to leave well enough alone, I checked the GSM firmware version and found that it was moko-8. Moko-11 is recommended so I used the micro-sd method for flashing the GSM firmware. That left me looking at a white on green login prompt. I didn’t get the green d_o_n_e message.

On first boot following, GSM failed. Shut it down and it wouldn’t boot at all. It would get as far as “Starting hardware abstraction layer ….” then appeared to power off. No poking or tapping would elicit a response. But maybe it was just resting. After several attempts it booted. However after a long while it once again said;

“can’t init service GSM:
org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply:
Message did not receive a reply (timeout by message bus)”

which is followed by a chain reaction can’t init Gprs, TopBar, Audio, SIM, SMS. I’ll try flashing GSM firmware again.

I tried the micro-sd method of flashing the GSM firmware again and once again was left at a green login prompt. So I went through the steps to flash the GSM firmware the geek way and ended up with

“(fluid, version 3) ok
Checksumming (269 * 8kB = 2152kB): ok
Flash Detect: (0xEC, 0x22A0) Samsung K5A3240CT ok
Program: (0 sectors, 0*8k=0k) () ok”

which is supposed to mean that I’m trying to flash the same firmware version as is already there. So, reboot….

And it works! Oh happy day!

Now to set up bind-home and that’s enough playing with phone for today. 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Hardware, Software

Leave a Reply

