Freerunner, SHR, WiFi

Finally got ’round to looking at WiFi on the Freerunner since installing SHR on it. SHR included an application called Mokonnect that looks nice but on my Freerunner didn’t work for WiFi.

Tinkering a bit I got the Freerunner to connect to my Linksys WRT54G with WPA2/TKIP & AES from the command line with…

root@om-gta02 $ wpa_supplicant -i eth0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf &
(that’s actually all one line)

root@om-gta02 $ udhcpc -i eth0

(of course with a suitable wpa_supplicant.conf file in place. I copied the one from my N800 and edited out the extraneous bits with vi)

That worked. Some time later I picked the freerunner up and it had lost the WiFi connection. A simple “ifup eth0” got it back.

Later I installed an app called NWA. NWA worked too and looks pretty slick, but it wouldn’t connect to my other network’s WRT54G2 using WPA2/AES. Unfortunately I didn’t have time to try connecting from the command line there.

Explore posts in the same categories: Software

Leave a Reply

