What did you do next summer?

I was working on the roof today. It felt like June, maybe July. It’s February. That got me thinking about fish, fires, fruit growing and the like. Maybe I’m just not searching well, but I couldn’t find anything on how this weather is going to affect things as we meander through 2010.

So, lacking any authorative info, here are a few of my thoughts.

There will be forest fires. Are there things you can do to prepare?

The fish, particularly salmon … I’m torn between learning more about how I might make a difference or just taking an “eat ’em while they still exist” attitude.

If you’re a gardener or you like washing your car you may want to invest in a couple of good sized rain barrels. Your municipality may offer them for a good price. Failing that, you may find some at hardware stores and agricultural supply type places.

Also if you’re a gardener, or even if you’re not, you may want to look at growing some of your own fruits and vegetables. Whatever you have time and room for. Food is going to be more expensive, making growing your own a valuable pass time in addition to being good for the soul.

I’m told there will be lots of slugs this year. One thing you can do to help with that is ring your plants with copper. Slugs don’t like crossing copper.

Right now I’m enjoying this February summer, but I think we’d do well to think about what’s next.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “What did you do next summer?”

  1. Michael Says:

    For get the good Beer and copper tape and try this brilliant Garden protector….I like most gardeners suffer from slugs and snails in this damp weather and in fact now that the climate has changed all over the world we have the slug and snail problem all year round, I have tried beer traps, copper tape, and salt, egg shells, even throwing them in my neighbours garden ( Just kidding )etc,etc all these methods are not practical long lasting and are harmful to Children, pets , wildlife ,and our Environment. A new device to control slugs and snails called the slugbell placed around flowers and vegetable garden , they use both Organic or Normal Metaldehyde bug pellets and that the small amount of pellets needed will last up to three months.!!! as they don’t dissolve in the soil and Brilliant for our environment , I will try anything to keep my garden looking how it should whilst protecting natures cycle.It works for me…!!

  2. Duncan Says:

    Garlic for vampires, and copper for slugs – got it!


Leave a Reply

