Gnumeric on KDE Netbook

I use my Acer Aspire One running Mandriva/KDE for most of my computing these days and to keep things snappy I prefer applications that are light. Yes, I do recognize the contradiction in that statement! Anyway, for spreadsheet work I like Gnumeric. Working on a new invoicing form today I tried to do a print preview from Gnumeric and got an error that Evince wasn’t found.

Funny that I haven’t used print preview before. Tried to install Evince, but urpmi said it was going to take 107MB with dependencies. Space on the internal storage of this machine is at a premium so I didn’t really want 107MB just to do print preview from Gnumeric. How to make it use Okular, which is already installed?

Well, it turns out that the call to Evince is a GTK thing, not a Gnumeric thing. To fix it add a file ~/.gtkrc-2.0.mine with the line

gtk-print-preview-command="okular %f"

It’s just that simple!

Explore posts in the same categories: Software

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

