Debian on Freerunner!

As the prompt at the end of the Debian install suggested, I hoped for the best and I think I got it! Freerunner Debian screenshot

Originally the Debian desktop used trayer to house the openmoko-panel-plugin at the top of the display, but that didn’t give me a menu for convenient launch of added applications. I changed to fbpanel (apt-get fbpanel) which is quite configurable and gives me the menu to easily launch apps I use like Gnumeric and Xournal. To make the change I just commented out trayer and added fbpanel to the .xsession file.

My .xsession file:

#!/bin/sh
#trayer --edge top &
fbpanel &
openmoko-panel-plugin &
zhone &
#wicd-client --no-animate &
exec matchbox-window-manager -use_titlebar no -use_cursor no

The commented out wicd line was original.

Explore posts in the same categories: Hardware, Software

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

