“Was it the same cat?”

Interesting.

On Tuesday Nov 1 at 13:59 PT I posted a link on Facebook to a CTV story re Canada’s funding to UNESCO following the vote on a Palestinian seat. The text that auto-appeared on Facebook read “Canada is putting a stop to future support for UNESCO now that the United Nations agency has accepted the Palestinian Authority as a full member.

I looked at that web page again today, Nov. 4, and the story seemed different. As a test I posted the link to Facebook again. The same text appeared on the new Facebook post, but that text does not appear on the CTV web page either as rendered in the browser or in the page source. The date on that web page currently reads “Date: Tue. Nov. 1 2011 9:40 PM ET”. That would be 18:40 PT, 4 hours and 41 minutes after I first posted the link to that web page on Facebook.

Here’s the link http://www.ctv.ca/CTVNews/QPeriod/20111101/baird-pulls-canadian-funding-for-unesco-111101/

Here’s how it appeared on Facebook.
Original Facebook post

A Google search for the text that auto-appeared on Facebook does return stories from other news sources that contain that text and read as I recall the story from Tuesday.

I haven’t had any déjà vu lately, but I think they changed something in the Matrix. If CTV is going to change a story after it’s posted they should make that clear on the web page and maybe provide a link to the original as a courtesy to people who commented on the original.

Below is the text of an email I’ve sent to CTV.
Will post if I get a reply.

Hello

I read a story on ctv.ca on Tuesday Nov 1, and posted a link to that
story on Facebook at 13:59 PT.

Looking at that story now, it is different from what I recall and has a
date line “Date: Tue. Nov. 1 2011 9:40 PM ET” That would be 18:40 PT, 4 hours and 41 minutes after I posted to Facebook.

The story is at

http://www.ctv.ca/CTVNews/QPeriod/20111101/baird-pulls-canadian-funding-for-unesco-111101/

If it was posted and later changed I think it should say so on the web
page (and perhaps a link to the original text could be provided) as a
courtesy to people who commented on the original story.

Am I mistaken, or did the story change rather significantly after I
first read it Tuesday?

Sincerely,
Ian Stephen

Explore posts in the same categories: Politics

Leave a Reply

