An Open Reply to Joe Oliver

Mr Oliver, I agree with some of your open letter of 9 January.

Canada should be on the edge of an historic choice. In fact we are twenty years or more behind on it. The choice to look at energy and other challenges of the 21st century and make Canada the go-to country for solutions.

We do need to diversify. It is long past time for Canada to get beyond the hewers of wood view of ourselves. A Canadian high-tech company like Arise Technologies Corp should not have to build it’s manufacturing in Germany. The Canadian government should not subsidize fossil fuel industries $1.38 billion per year while dropping funding for the EcoEnergy Renewable Power Program from the 2011 budget.

Knowing what we know about tobacco smoking, most of us don’t smoke. Knowing what we know about atmospheric carbon, most of us want to change our ways. Unfortunately we have a government that are to CO2 as chain-smokers are to the tobacco industry. A government that encourages mega-projects funded by foreign corporations that undermine Canada’s public interest. A government that shows an utter lack of respect for a regulatory process that is barely under way and a government that lacks a vision for the 21st century.

Mr. Oliver, I am a trades person with a small business, a mortgage and 3 good kids. I don’t feel very radical and if there are any “studied lines” as you mentioned on CBC’s As It Happens, I haven’t seen them. But for me the choice is clear: I can not stand for foreign corporations undermining my children’s future and the future of generations to come. I must oppose projects that demand too great a price while further delaying our advance to better ways of doing things. I must stand before the Northern Gateway review committee and say my piece.

Knowing what we know about the global challenges ahead, I believe Canadians deserve better and can do better. I believe it is the duty of every one of us to work toward that. I hope that after the next election we will have a government that has at least as bold a vision of Canada as I do. The future does not wait.

Update: A reply to Joe Oliver from the always thoughtful and well-spoken Elizabeth May

Explore posts in the same categories: Environment, Politics

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “An Open Reply to Joe Oliver”

  1. Cea Says:

    I’m not into radicalism. I’m not an environmentalist. I’m not even political so I only glanced that Oliver’s letter, googling it after reading your first sentence.

    But as a person with a fair amount of common sense, in my opinion, the Gateway project is a bad idea. And that’s it.

    It’s a bad idea to put garbage out in a rural area without bear proofing it. I can tell you what will happen.
    It’s a bad idea to leave leftover chicken out on a plate overnight here at our place with our ravenous cats. I can tell you what will happen.
    And I can tell you that if you run some pipeline through hither and yonder, it’s a bad idea. I can tell you what will happen.

    I just hope I’m not there to see it happen. And I’ll be saying “I told you so” (and I’m not shy about it, just ask my husband 😉


Leave a Reply

