Ebooks Revisited

digital bookBack in August 2010 I wrote a rant about ebooks and DRM, “Canadian DMCA (Bill C-32) and ‘my life of crime; part 2′“.

Today I was dragged back into the ebook swamp by Rafe Mair, damn him. I saw his post about his new book “The Home Stretch” being published on-line. The book sounded interesting and Rafe fights the good fights, the Charlottetown Accord and Northern Gateway being the two that stand out for me. So I thought I should buy Rafe’s book.

I couldn’t find a PDF version anywhere, but did discover that there is a Kobo app for Android. I have an Android tablet. A fairly useless toy of a computer, but a handy size to read on. So I installed the Kobo app, rediscovered my old password and purchased the book through the Kobo app.

It was an easy process and didn’t force me to buy a new device to read a book, so I guess the ebook scene has improved a wee bit since 2010.

I didn’t read the licence agreement though.

Explore posts in the same categories: Hardware, Politics, Software

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

