Good Ebook News!

A friend’s email lead me to be looking at the Food Matters Chilliwack website, which lead me to the FarmFolk CityFolk website, where I started reading their latest magazine, which lead me to look for a book by John Restakis titled “Humanizing the Economy”. (None of which had anything to do with why I sat down at the computer in the first place!)

Of course I looked for an ‘e’ version since I don’t want to kill a tree to read a book. I found the ebook version at New Society Publishers. On their website I found that New Society Publishers is on Gabriola Island, so fairly local. Even for an online purchase I like to support local businesses.

I went ahead and made my purchase and found to my delight that New Society Publishers sells their ebooks in epub or pdf version with no DRM! You just click an agreement during the purchase process where you promise not to abuse their trust and you get a book you can read on whatever computer or device you want. No hassles, no particular software required (other than an epub or pdf viewer of course, but you can use whatever one you want), no having to register your computers with them, no BS! The thing you click doesn’t actually say you ‘promise not to abuse their trust’, but that’s the gist of it. Don’t do the things anyone knows you shouldn’t do with copyrighted material.

How refreshing! How “This Is The Way It Was Meant To Be!”

New Society Publishers, I just want to go over there and give them a big hug!

Explore posts in the same categories: Politics, Software

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Good Ebook News!”

  1. Ivy Says:

    I have been surfing online greater than 3 hours lately,
    but I never found any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It’s beautiful price sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made just right content as you did, the internet will likely be much more helpful than ever before.


Leave a Reply

