GoSun Sport

Well, we got one!

Based on size, price, and that it came with two cooking trays and a “kettle” for boiling water, we picked the GoSun Sport Pro. It also came with a really deluxe case and ten little silicone baking cups.

First attempt to cook with it was a quick egg dish just to try it out. We lined the cooking tray with parchment paper to keep the cooking tray clean. Probably fussed too much setting the oven up on our balcony and worrying about whether we had the angle right. The first attempt turned out like this.

Not exactly appetizing to look at, but cooked.

Unfortunately we hadn’t quite got the end of the parchment paper right and egg leaked underneath. There are instructions for using GoSun’s parchment liners. The same instructions work with your own parchment paper of course, but we’d cut ours a bit short so were actually expecting some leakage. Cleaning the cooking tray was a bit of a chore.

Try Two!

The sun is inviting me to try again. I’m not getting creative because our kitchen is fairly depleted today, so it’s eggs for try two. This time with diced red onion, grated asiago cheese, and fresh ground black pepper. Stirred it up in a bowl with just a splash of milk. Going to try the little silicone baking cups this time.

Scooped a couple of large spoonfuls into one of the silicone cups, and promptly spilled about half when I picked the cup up. These things are pretty floppy!

Just a bit more care though, and in a moment there were five little cups lined up in the cooking tray. I left some space between them thinking the air space might help speed cooking.

One thing I forgot to pay attention to was the location of the little vent near the handle of the cooking tray. The end piece on the cooking tray rotates until held in place by the wooden handle being screwed in tight. The vent should be aimed up for better venting while cooking and because the other side of that piece has a flat spot so keeps the tray sitting stable and upright on your work surface. I realized it was off this time as soon as I’d put the first silicone cup in, so removed the cup and adjusted.

The GoSun Pro comes with an alignment tool attached from the factory. I looked at the instructions for that tool on GoSun’s website and this time it clicked how you’re supposed to use it. I felt a bit silly for how much I’d fussed over aligning the oven to the sun on our first attempt. The alignment tool makes it a snap! (Might have also helped that we had full sun this time. It was mixed sun/cloud the day we did our first try.)

I set a timer for half an hour based on thinking I remembered reading somewhere that half an hour was suitable for eggs. Looking a few minutes after the timer timed out, there was steam coming out the oven’s vent and condensation visible.

Pulled the cooking tube out, the eggs looked ready and so was I. Lunch time!

The cups seemed to cook a little more the further they were away from the vent, just as GoSun’s instructions said would be the case. But it was all cooked and hot.

The eggs came out of the silicone cups easily, though not entirely cleanly. Even though I’d fiddled around taking pictures (most of which were discarded), the cups were still hot to touch as I used a finger to wipe out the bit of egg that stuck. Do supervise young children when using a GoSun oven.

How was it? Well, about as good as the ingredients that went in. On the first one I though maybe I detected just a bit of flavour from the silicone cup. On the second one I thought maybe I’d only imagined that. They were bland, so after the second one I added a drop or two of sriracha to each. Just what was needed!

The silicone cups are in the dishwasher now, and the cooking tray didn’t need cleaning at all, though I suppose it’s good practice to give it a wipe anyway. I’m quite pleased with try two with the GoSun Sport. Seems like the main thing that’s needed going forward is for me to learn to be a better cook, whether using the GoSun or not.

Explore posts in the same categories: Energy, Environment, GoSun

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment